a city with many buildings

Car Insurance in Oregon

Learn more


Oregon Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

In Oregon, car insurance is mandatory for all drivers. Oregon has provisions for liability coverage, personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Liability insurance covers only the other car and/or that car’s driver and passengers when you are found at fault for the accident. Your liability insurance minimums for Oregon are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury to two or more people
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provides coverage for all reasonable and necessary expenses of medical, hospital, dental, surgical, ambulance and prosthetic services incurred within two years after the date of the person's injury, but not more than $15,000 in the aggregate for all such expenses of the person. These benefits may also be used to cover funeral expenses, essential services child care and/or loss of earnings.

Underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage pays medical claims that are the fault of the other driver when they do not have enough liability coverage to provide adequate reimbursement.

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident to you and your passengers
In addition to having car insurance, Oregon also requires proof of that insurance during a police stop. Driving without liability insurance could result in fines, suspension and/or impounding of your vehicle.

While minimum car insurance requirements in Oregon are predefined, they are not meant to be a cap on how much coverage you can or should get. You may personally opt for more coverage to protect your financial assets and your vehicle and/or passengers.

If you’re interested in getting a car insurance quote in Oregon, contact your American Family Insurance agent to discuss what type of protection is best for your needs and what discounts may apply in your region.