a group of buildings with trees in front of them

Car Insurance Requirements in South Dakota

Explore car insurance coverage requirements in South Dakota. Whether you’re moving to another state or getting coverage for the first time, American Family can help.

Learn More


Car Insurance & Car Insurance Requirements in South Dakota

South Dakota Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

South Dakota law requires drivers to show proof of financial responsibility. Most people opt for automobile insurance to comply with this law.

South Dakota has mandatory provisions for liability coverage and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Liability insurance covers only the other car and/or that car’s driver and passengers when you are found at fault for the accident. Your liability insurance minimums for South Dakota are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury to two or more people
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Uninsured motorist coverage pays medical claims that are the fault of the other driver when they either have no insurance or the case of a hit-and-run.

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury to two or more people

Underinsured motorist coverage applies to personal injuries caused by a driver with inadequate insurance. It kicks in after their personal injury coverage has reached the max.

  • Equal to Policy BI Limits up to 100000/300000

While minimum car insurance requirements in South Dakota are predefined, they are not meant to be a cap on how much coverage you can or should get. You may personally opt for more coverage to protect your financial assets and your vehicle and/or passengers.

If you’re interested in getting a car insurance quote in South Dakota, contact your American Family Insurance agent to discuss what type of protection is best for your needs and what discounts may apply in your region.